On Writing

20130209_103659[2]Life is busy. It is easy to get caught up in life and forget about one of the things that matter most in my life: thinking and putting thoughts into words. A few months ago I was challenged to set aside some time each day to write. As challenging as it was to come up with a routine and stick to it, I have to admit this is possibly one of the greatest decisions in terms of my academic career – and personally. Aside from being rewarding because I’m actually getting work done, it has become a time that I cherish and go to great extends to guard.

Writing doesn’t just happen. Just like any craft, it takes persistence and hard work to perfect. Now, please understand that I’m not boasting about my writing skills or about my scheduling abilities (I have yet to perfect the art of writing and my wife should take most of the credit in helping me to organize my life).

However, what I want to point out is how much setting time aside has helped me in the dissertation-writing process. It’s working to the point that I fantasize about writing. I have come to appreciate and own the time.

It’s only an hour each day, but does it ever make a difference.

Leave a Reply

